Cannibal attacks, bath salts, zombie apocolypse. 2012 may be the end, after all….

Rudy Eugene ate Ronald Poppo’s face. Just when I think the world can’t get any worse, it does. Such a fine young cannibal….

This is the negative husband again. I’ve been hearing these stories about this zombie attack in Miami, Florida. I won’t go into all of the details. You can google them for yourself. Police are blaming a brave new drug, “bath salts,” that are the brave new version of LSD.

Having worked in a town that is quite active with methamphetamine production and use, this really barely amazes me. Cannibalism is about all that is left to see. And everyone is talking about how scary this Rudy Eugene was in his zombie-like mode. His girl friend said that someone performed a voodoo spell on her upstanding boy friend. And I don’t want to make light of the plight of these people….but…..

We live in a world that tells us that morals are relative. There is no wrong….there is no right….and I sleep very well at night. So why was it wrong for Rudy Eugene to get high and eat someone’s face? Yeah, I understand….Ronald Poppo doesn’t like it…but his opinion has no more weight than mine. Why don’t we vote cannibalism to be legal?

Miami cannibal/zombie face revealed, Rudy Eugene identified

These gorgeous, pristine shores are in the Caribbean. The islands are beautiful. I’ve been there. But hundreds of years ago, the native Caribbean’s used to find human flesh a delicacy. Who are we to say they were wrong?

And hey! If that voodoo priest really can make zombies…..in a morally relative universe, who am I to say that he can’t. Of coarse, I don’t want him to make a zombie of me, but who am I to judge?

My point is…..if there isn’t some form of absolute right and wrong (Christian or otherwise, I’m not debating religion, here), then the only real Law is the Law of the Fist. I have a bigger fist than you, so you better do as I say, or I will smash your face in.

I’m high on a drug that causes me to feel no pain, so you can either surrender your bridge-shelter to me, or I will eat your face. And, since I feel no pain, it will take the police six shots to stop me.

And who decides who is right, and who is wrong?

I guess the cops with the guns. Or….with the most guns. Lets face it, if you throw out a belief in the Absolute (still not really talking about God) then what wins is numbers. Strength. Power. And what is the power of steel, compared to the power of flesh? What is the elegant sword compared to the sinews of the hand that wields it?

The Existentialist talk (ad nauseam) about the absurdity of the Universe. I’m not an Existentialist, but after reading The Killing Joke, I think I understand those that believe that the Universe is mad……

Riddle me this, Batman! If there is no Absolute Right and Wrong…..then why did we fight World War II? What was the point of my small home town losing 400 men if the Nazis were no more in the wrong than we are? If there are no Absolutes at all, then the wrongness of killing six million Jews and millions of others exist merely in the accidental happenstance that Germany lost the war!!!!!! No holy cause. We simply had bigger, better, more organized guns.

No…..I can’t believe that. In my darker moments, I long to huddle in the corner with the joker, and howl, and laugh, and cry my despair…..

Strong Son of God, immortal Love,
Whom we, that have not seen thy face,
By faith, and faith alone, embrace,
Believing where we cannot prove;

Thine are these orbs of light and shade;
Thou madest Life in man and brute;
Thou madest Death; and lo, thy foot
Is on the skull which thou hast made.

Thou wilt not leave us in the dust:
Thou madest man, he knows not why,
He thinks he was not made to die;
And thou hast made him: thou art just.

Nobility, humanity, the heroic spirit….does it indeed taste like chicken…..?

The only vague answer I have begins with these lines, from the same poet:

Our little systems have their day;
They have their day and cease to be:
They are but broken lights of thee,
And thou, O Lord, art more than they.

 

 

We silly humans make our theories, test our hypotheses….in the end, we merely eat of each others flesh. We devour the hopes and dreams of our fellow-man. And most of us do it with no more remorse than Rudy Eugene. I pray God has mercy on us all…..

Perhaps I am a fool, but I think, though I fight a losing fight, I have to stand for that God who outlasts our little systems. My shots are faltering, fleeting, failing. Like Don Quixote, I know that my cause may even be illusory. But if face eaters are the future….I’ll take my “fictional” God….

Petra-This Means War

8 Responses to “Cannibal attacks, bath salts, zombie apocolypse. 2012 may be the end, after all….”

  1. Bitter Clinger

    IT HAS BEGUN!!!

    Just remember, aim for the head.

    Double Tap.

    Cardio.

    Always check the back seat.

    Buckle up.

    • awayinthemanger

      I laughed till I fell into a fit of coughing. As always, I appreciate the comments…..

  2. Bob Sagot

    Dafuq did is just read? O_O

  3. Jeff

    I wonder when the liberals will go after cannibals as their next voting block to build their base.

    • awayinthemanger

      I think that’s a capital idea! They’ll vote however we say, and they can intimidate the opposition! It’s brilliant! Almost as if bath salts were a government conspiracy….

      • Bitter Clinger

        Don’t forget the whole lack of a functioning BRAAAIIIIN!!!!

      • awayinthemanger

        I pick up product and put it down…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers