Listen to God’s voice

Proverbs is known as book of God‘s wisdom in the Bible.  I will try to write something from it everyday.

Proverbs 1:8-19 NIV version says:

Warning Against Enticement

“Listen my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.  They will be garland to grace your head and a chain to adorn your neck.  My son, if sinners, entice you, do not give in to them.  If they say, – “come along with me lets ‘s waylay some harmless soul; let’s swallow them alive, like the grave, and whole like those who go down to the pit; we will get all sorts of valuable things and fill our homes with plunder; throw in your lot with us, and we will share common purse” – my son do not go along with them, do not set foot on their path; for their feet rush into sin, they are swift ti shed blood.  How useless to spread a net in full view of all the birds!  These men lie in wait for their own blood; they waylay only themselves!  Such is the end of all who go after ill-gotten gain; it takes away the lives of those who get it.”

The first point in this scripture is to listen to your parents.  I was blessed with parents who loved God and taught me the right direction.  I have have messed up some, but their words of wisdom never departed from me. Sometimes we reject what parents teach us; but if you have a Godly upbringing listen to your parents, they are wise.  Do not go with crowd because they are cool.  Listen to God and do what he says, not what some other person tells you.  I am parent now,  I still listen to God and I have to do what he tells me to do.  There are rewards to listening to your parents.

The second point in the scripture is do not be greedy.  The people described in this verse was motivated by greed.  When greed motivates a man’s heart it can make him ruthless.  A greedy man will destroy the life of another and will destroy his own life.

Veggie Tales has song that talks about standing up for what you believe in.  It very important that we all do stand up for God!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

