Accumulation of Power

Solar eclipse, 2012. No….it hasn’t happened yet….I got this picture from wikipedia. Some folks see it as a sign of the end times. I see it as a metaphor of our times.

I remember two solar eclipses in my lifetime. One happened when I was a kid, and the other, later on, while I was an adult busting my tail trying to make a living. The first one, I “saw” via some paper contraption that my teachers set up so that we could view the shadow of the image without burning out our tender young eyes (some of you may think I made that story up…but yes, I remember a time when more than two teachers per state actually cared about kids). The second one, I slept through, because I was working nights at the time, and had to sleep during the days (like a vampire) or not at all.

And I shall miss this one, as well. From what I can gather, Oklahoma won’t be very much in the shadow of the eclipse at all.

I’ve been writing a lot (perhaps too much) about the potential, emminant fall of the Republic. I’m writing all of this in the hopes that maybe, like in the 70’s, this is merely an eclipse of liberty. I’m hoping that the sun of Liberty will pull free soon from behind the moon of despotism, and we shall revive the spirit of our Father’s once again.

But I fear, all too often, that this is actual Twilight, and the day may be over for us.

Picture credit, uswgo.com

We’ve established (at least, we’ve tried to establish) in previous posts that the accumulation of power usurped from all three branches of power amounts to tyranny, even if that power is democratically elected.

The accumulation of all powers, legislative, executive, and judiciary, in the same hands, whether of one, a few, or many, and whether hereditary, self-appointed, or elective, may justly be pronounced the very definition of tyranny.-Federalist 47. Madison.

https://noxforchristmas.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/tyranny-the-best-mothers-day-gift-idea/

Let’s keep exploring what The Federalist Papers say about our times.

1. The Founding Father‘s knew that governments tend to sacrifice long term securities and freedoms for short term agrendizement. They constructed the

The Founding Father’s pledged their lives, their fortunes, and their sacred honor to give their children secure lives of liberty. We’ve turned our backs on all of that.
Picture credit: sodahead.com

Constitution in a deliberate fashion to alleviate that short sightedness.

Is it to be imagined that a legislative assembly, consisting of a hundred or two hundred members, eagerly bent on some favorite object, and breaking through the restraints of the Constitution in pursuit of it, would be arrested in their careers by considerations drawn from a censorial revision of their conduct at the future distance of ten, fifteen, or twenty years?-Federalist 50. Madison.

The idea Madison is explaining, here, is why they made the Constitution amendable, but also made it difficult to do so. If it were easily amended, than a tyranny would be easily established. If it were difficult to amend, then a tyranny would be harder to establish. But flaws in the Constitution could still be corrected. But, as we established earlier (https://noxforchristmas.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/tyranny-who-cares-if-im-loved-or-feared-as-long-as-im-obeyed/) the Constitution is a worthless piece of paper if the people don’t honor and revere it. Since we’ve thrown it aside, the Powers that Be are free to do as they with.

And they wish to rule….

Executive orders from…..

Presidents & Congress ignoring the Constitution

Don’t click on it….I nabbed the picture from Amazon.com. There was a time when we thought Congressional Statesmen would face the Devil to preserve our freedoms. Now we assume they make deals with him to enslave us to their will…

2. The political parties that were supposed to compete with each other have become carbon copies of each other. Some of the Founding Father’s actually saw the danger of parties cooperating instead of competing.

Is it to be presumed that any other State, at the same or any other given period, will be exempt from them [political parties]? Such an event ought to be neither presumed nor desired; because an extinction of parties necessarily implies either a universal alarm for the public safety, or an absolute extinction of liberty.-Federalist 50. Madison.

One of the reasons I write so harshly about the Republican party is because I am a Republican. I want them to stand for the conservative values I’ve come to embrace. I don’t want them to just talk about those values, and then vote the same, or worse, than Democrats. That’s as bad as a pastor preaching the Bible to me on Sunday and heading to the strip clubs to cheat on his wife all the rest of the week!

We don’t want perfect party unity. We want opposition. So that the Powers That Be are fighting each other, and not putting us behind the 8 ball. But that has been the history of the last twenty (or hundred) years.

John Stossel: The myth that Republicans want to shrink govt.

As Stossel states in the above video….a thief is better than a Congressman, because a thief doesn’t demand to be thanked when he picks your pocket. One of the reasons why I hate my job is because bosses insist that I work in misery and pain, and yet smile while I’m doing it. I don’t doubt this is universal. We don’t care how much our servants hurt. We just want them to smile.

The Joker smiles a lot. I think I understand how he got his scars.

3 Responses to “Accumulation of Power”

  1. Bitter Clinger

    “One of the reasons why I hate my job is because bosses insist that I work in misery and pain, and yet smile while I’m doing it. I don’t doubt this is universal.”

    That’s wrong think. Big brother and skynet are watching.

    • awayinthemanger

      Yes, you’re right. Big Brother and Skynet are always watching. War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ignorance is strength. And don’t forget…I lift up p….roduct and put it down!

Leave a Reply

