Jesus died for our sins…Now He lives

Us: Easter is a day to celebrate Jesus who died on the cross for our sins and rose again on the third day. Sometimes it is very hard to celebrate things. We can be grappling with despair or depression, and thinking that God has abandoned us. Jesus was wholly God, and wholly Man. He felt the same temptations to despair that we feel. But He did not succumb to them….even on the Cross. While on the Cross, Jesus seemed to give voice to His grief.

About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?- which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” Matthew 27: 46.

Wife:

He’s alive

Are you willing to give your heart to Jesus since he gave his life for you?

He bowed His head and died

We are glad that we gave our lives to the Lord.

Isaiah 45:22-25 says: “Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other. By myself I have sworn, my mouth has uttered in all integrity a word that will bot be revoked.  Before me every knee will bow; by me every tongue will swear.  They will say of me, In the Lord alone are righteousness and strength.  All who have raged against him and be put to shame.  But in the Lord all the descendants of Israel will be found righteous and will exult.”

Oh what a Savior!

Husband:

My wife is more simple and direct than I am. In many ways, that is a good thing. One of my great faults is that it sometimes takes me a hundred words to say what could so easily be stated in a sentence or two. It makes people mistake that I am the smarter one. The truth is, I’m just the more verbal one.

My atheist friends listen to me talk, and are often confused about why I am a Christian. It’s very difficult for me to explain. My path to Christ is similar to that of C. S. Lewis. Very convoluted, very confusing are the paths I’ve trodden on my way. That used to make me doubt the validity of my experience. I could never shake my memories of The Pilgrim’s Progress. The way should be straight. If your taking by ways and meandering ways….your not on the right path.

And so, in order to have faith in Christ, I’ve had to shake a lot of self-doubt. That’s always been a very difficult thing for me to do.

You see, my father was an alcoholic. A really bad one. My teen-age memories consist of him messing himself (yeah….your imagination can go a little wild with this….it won’t be far shy of the truth….), of his threatening me, of him mumbling incoherent things in front of a girl I liked in the bar that he had hauled me into. And my mother beat the unholy crud out of me. Like Forest Gump, “That’s all I’ve got to say about that.”

I’m not admitting those things to dump the blame on them. I’ve largely forgiven them since those days. Both of my parents have come to Christ, and those things are very much in the past. I tell you these things in order to put “the stuff” in context.

When I was a teenager, I had massive problems with insomnia. I would lay awake, long into the bitter dark hours of a cold winter’s night, or even longer into the sweltering heat of  a sultry summer’s evening. And I would wonder if God even existed or not. And if He did, did He care? How could He allow all of these things that were happening to me?

My sister tried to be a comfort to me. Among other things, she would give me tapes of Christian contemporary music, and hope that it would help me on the thorny road I trod. Several songs stuck with me. The most profound, to me, was We Are the Reason, by David Meece. The best videos on YouTube seem to be remakes by Avalon, but I’ll give you one by David Meece himself. Maybe you’ll get how it could impact a despairing teenager, and maybe you won’t. All I can tell you, is that I probably would not be here, or would be far less pleasant, if it weren’t for this song.

We are the reason-David Meece

 

 

3 Responses to “Jesus died for our sins…Now He lives”

  1. Bongo

    I see you’ve got a lot of related posts here, but thanks for linking to mine.

  2. Another Father Days’ Thought « noxforchristmas

    […] Jesus died for our sins…Now He lives (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

