As Super Tuesday rolls on, I continue my review of the Federalist Papers. (Or, yes, I voted for Ron Paul….what’s it to ya!?)

Yep, ya look ’em up on Google trends, and the names in the caption above are hotter than the searches for Super Tuesday. No wonder our Republic is falling! We’d rather watch reality t.v. as vote. (No offense meant to my good friend, A. Hope his date goes well…..hey! Her name ain’t Sandra Fluke, is it…..?)

Ok….there’s a few things I’ve got to get out of my system before I proceed with the next installment of my book review of The Federalist Papers. 1) Courtney Roth has updated her blog! I’m glad to see it, because I know if I lost my son, I would be devastated. I’m not surprised it took her so long to update. I’m impressed that she’s still blogging at all. This woman is so much stronger than I will ever be. I suppose that is why God gave her Tripp. The same experience that would have broken me seems to have brought out the best in her. I hope God blesses her and her family. Such folk as these are the true reason why America was once great. Not because we had a government that could send hordes of young men to the slaughter. Not because a big government sent a man to the moon. But because simple, God-fearing women loved their children more than life itself. I don’t know if “my” party is at war with women. But I know that, when each of the sexes starts to lose faith in their opposites, someone demonstrates that there may be a small glimmer of hope for us yet. The war between the sexes is largely folly. The devil laughs at the way we hurt each other.

2) In spite of the hordes of foodstampers, I voted. I actually fired my little bb pellet for liberty. It isn’t much. Its like trying to speak poetry to the hurricane. It doesn’t hear. It doesn’t care. It is not moved by your strength or character. And it will destroy you without mercy.

Just like Big Brother.

But perhaps, even though my character is not half that of Courtney Roth, or her lost little son Tripp, maybe there will be one or two souls out there that will hear my song over the hurricane. And, perhaps, in their own battles in days to come, some of the battle song they sing will be, at least, influenced by the faint, feeble words I uttered in my own vain struggles.

I know….I know….stay on topic….Less poetry, more prose. This has become a political blog, after all!

1. in the eighteenth century, great minds believed in reason. They believed that their fellow-men were capable of wise decision.

It is not a new observation that the people of any country (if, like the Americans, intelligent and well-informed) seldom adopt and steadily persevere for many years in an erroneous opinion respecting their interests.-John Jay, Federalist 3

Let’s face it….there is no point in having a democratic republic if the general populace is a bunch of fools. In the seventeenth and eighteenth century, the literacy rate in Massachusetts  and Connecticut was between 89 and 95% (Amusing Ourselves to Death, Neil Postman, pg 31.) You have to have an educated people to have a republic. In my managerial econ course, we were taught that one of the criterion for a capitalist economy to work efficiently….is an informed public. If you can’t assume that people make informed decisions, economic theory breaks down. Thomas Paine’s Common Sense sold 100,000 copies in three months. “The only communication event that could produce such collective attention in today’s America is the Superbowl.” (Postman, pg 35). The men of that century were excited by the ideas of liberty. The men of this age are excited by throwing around pig skins and grunting monosyllables.

But the belief in common sense was mitigated by an understanding that even the best of men could be….less than their best.

2. It was not assumed that people would act like saints, back then. We might rely on common sense, but we also had to limit the power of any one person, faction, or party.

….men are ambitious, vindictive, and rapacious.-Hamilton, Federalist 6

The quote has become trite, that absolute power corrupts absolutely. That is why the framers of the Constitution deliberately constructed our government to not run smoothly. They wanted the branches to balance each other. They wanted the aristocrats to balance the common populace. They had enough knowledge of history, and of their fellow-man, to know that you could not trust kings, the rich, the poor, the judge, or the juror, to be absolutely honest all the time. We may be impatient with the process, but the process has kept us free for two hundred years. Still, Rome had their freedom for 500 years. I don’t think we’ll make it that long.

Harvard, John Adam's alma mater. His education inspired him to build a nation based on freedom of speech and religion. Now, Sandra Fluke is inspired to force her school to provide free contraception....

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Responses to “As Super Tuesday rolls on, I continue my review of the Federalist Papers. (Or, yes, I voted for Ron Paul….what’s it to ya!?)”

  1. thedailyblisspursuit

    I was looking forwad to a life of reason and what I am getting is some crazy walk back into the past, where’s there’s a crying need for women’s equality. And the religion! What is it with all the radicals??? Right Wing RADICALS. At a certain point, evangelical becomes only radical and terroristic.

    • awayinthemanger

      Yes….the age of reason is long since gone. I thank you for noticing my post. I feel it was one of my worst, but what do I know. I’ve never figured out what to do with women’s equality. The trouble with any equality, is that we need each other. We were made for relationship. But the sad truth is that the one with the most power in any relationship is the one who cares the least. As for religion….I know I have to be careful. I’ve got evangelicals and atheist both reading this blog, and I’d love to keep the dialogue going with all of them. I’ve been a right winger. Perhaps I still am. But I always tried not to get radical, though, perhaps, I may have failed on occasion. The point is…don’t worry about religion. Don’t worry about being enslaved to a bunch of man-made rules. Do your best to pursue God, or truth, or love, or whatever It is for you. And try to find the bliss in every day.

      • thedailyblisspursuit

        awe, you’re awesome! Thanks for taking the time for such a thoughtful comment. I’m looking forword to more of your posts….best-

  2. Jeff

    RON PAUL is the only canidate 2 reduce the debt. He is willing 2 reduce the presidential salary from 400,000 to 39,000 and refuse his governmental benefits( he already does this in congress). And while everybody elses top donors are banks Ron pauls top donors are the army, air force, and the navy. Who will defend us up in washington after he leaves ? Who will stand up to Bernake and the fed as they destroy our dollar?Who will defend the freedom of the internet? And would know about the fed and what they are doing if they were no person like Ron Paul?

  3. A time to love and a time to hate; at time for war and a time for peace Eccleciastes 3:8 « noxforchristmas

    […] As Super Tuesday rolls on, I continue my review of the Federalist Papers. (Or, yes, I voted for Ron … (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Can the Republic stand? « noxforchristmas

    […] As Super Tuesday rolls on, I continue my review of the Federalist Papers. (Or, yes, I voted for Ron … (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Silent Running: the still, small voice of the Ron Paul revolution « noxforchristmas

    […] As Super Tuesday rolls on, I continue my review of the Federalist Papers. (Or, yes, I voted for Ron … (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

  6. Random thoughts on Federalist 19 « noxforchristmas

    […] As Super Tuesday rolls on, I continue my review of the Federalist Papers. (Or, yes, I voted for Ron … (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

  7. Tyranny: who cares if I’m loved or feared….as long as I’m obeyed….. « noxforchristmas

    […] As Super Tuesday rolls on, I continue my review of the Federalist Papers. (Or, yes, I voted for Ron … (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

