Too long have I lived among those who hate peace. I am a man of peace; but when I speak, they are for war. Psalm 120, 6 & 7

Valentines day is here, and everyone is thinking about love (or, at least, lust). Sports Illustrated is putting out its swimsuit edition (and no, wifer, I ain’t even gonna look at it….). People are mailing e-cards and sending chocolate covered strawberries and cherries. Everyone is thinking about love, and showing love.

And half a world away, men and women fight for a nation that has largely abandoned them. They fight to make free a people who “hoard, and sleep, and feed, and know not…..” We do not know what freedom means, for we are enslaved to our own passions, and to bloated government and corporate greed. We know not God, for we were taught that He was discredited, and rather than looking up the sources, we took the stodgy professor’s word for it.

Don Henley has a song, The Garden of Allah. I’m listening to it as I type this. It’s a story about how the Devil appears in Hollywood, and goes away despondent, because we have already done his work for him….and done it better than he could. Sometimes, I fear that this may be the truth.

I’ve been writing about Ron Paul‘s foreign policy. Everyone tells me that its his Achilles heel. Ironically, Achilles is the greatest hero in the story, yet he is killed more by treachery than by prowess of arms or moral superiority. I also find myself scratching my head when people are basically calling Ron Paul a “peacenik,” when he is the only veteran in the current campaign, and has more monetary contributions from military personnel than all the other Republican candidates combined, and twice as much as Obama himself!

I’m going to continue writing for a while about Ron Paul’s “insane” foreign policy. I’m going to continue on the point of disentangling ourselves from organizations like the U. N. which severely limit our sovereignty. I’ll discuss the wars a little, and I’ll touch a little bit on the war on drugs, and how that is a foreign policy travesty.

1. We need to excuse ourselves from the U. N. at the very least.

‘Tis folly in one Nation to look for disinterested favors from another; that it must pay with a portion of its Independence for whatever it may accept under that character; that by such acceptance, it may place itself in the condition of having given equivalents for nominal favours and yet of being reproached with ingratitude for not giving more. There can be no greater error than to expect, or calculate upon real favours from Nation to Nation. ‘Tis an illusion which experience must cure, which a just pride ought to discard. George Washington in his farewell address. Sept. 19, 1796.

Endorse Liberties Add For Ron Paul on Blowback in Iran

http://www.youtube.com/user/EndorseLiberty?v=AwbBWEljyYE

Like I said in the last post, I get that we did what we had to do in WW II. And I get that we had a struggle for our very survival with the ensuing Cold War that devolved from the chaos of WW II. But those wars are over. Why are we still in Germany? Why are we still in Japan? Why are we fighting several shadow wars in Africa? What are we doing in Libya? What are we doing with Egypt? Why did we overthrow a democracy in Iran in order to prop up a Monarchist Shah? We’ve gotten Bin Laden. Why are we still in Afghanistan? We’ve gotten Saddam Hussein. Why are we still in Iraq? (Oh yeah…..we “withdrew” from that country….)

2. Let’s bring an end to the wars.

But the safety of the people of America against dangers from foreign force depends not only on their forbearing to give just causes of war to other nations, but also on their placing and continuing themselves in such a situation as not to invite hostility or insult; for it need not be observed that there are pretended as well as just causes of war. John Jay Federalist No. 4

John Stossel with Ron Paul: Is war ever justifiable?

Please don’t confuse me with a “peacenik!” I absolutely agree with Reagan when he said that perceived weakness invited aggression from dictator regimes. But there’s smart war and there’s stupid war. And there’s smart ways to go to war, and foolish ways. I’m not going to debate whether this military action or that one was brilliant or not. I’m talking politics, not military strategy. I was all for the first and second Iraq wars, I was all for invading Afghanistan. But now….in retrospect, I’m not 100% sure that we did the right thing. And I’m absolutely certain that its time to come home. We did what we came there to do. Let’s end it. Bring the troops home, and let them start rebuilding our wounded nation. And we’ll leave Iraq and Afghanistan (and Africa, and Libya, and so on and on and on) to God and their own people.

3. Why are we protecting Opium farmers in Afghanistan when there is a war on drugs that has raged for forty years?

Afghanistan opium crop guarded by military while US conducts failed war on drug!

I’m pretty strongly against drugs. I’ve seen how it destroys lives, and whole communities. Many times I have felt how very close to barbarism our society is as the masses seek to bury their miseries in the latest illicit high. I was very supportive of Ronald Reagan’s strong stance on drugs. But so many things that I have heard disturb me, and this video confirms some of my suspicions, and hints at other things that I have heard from veterans that have returned from Panama and Afghanistan. I fear that there are far too many in our government who are complicit in the very drug trade that they purport to be fighting. Why do we keep trusting in big government, when Big Brother seems to be acting more and more like a Colombian drug cartel thug!?

Jardim de Alah / The Garden of Allah

Jardim de Alah / The Garden of Allah (Photo credit: Márcio Cabral de Moura)the Devil found nothing left for him to claim.....

 

2 Responses to “Too long have I lived among those who hate peace. I am a man of peace; but when I speak, they are for war. Psalm 120, 6 & 7”

  1. Blessed are the poor, for we can rule over them with an iron hand « noxforchristmas

    […] Too long have I lived among those who hate peace. I am a man of peace; but when I speak, they are fo… (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

  2. A time to love and a time to hate; at time for war and a time for peace Eccleciastes 3:8 « noxforchristmas

    […] Too long have I lived among those who hate peace. I am a man of peace; but when I speak, they are fo… (noxforchristmas.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

