Newt and Santorum say the right stuff, but do they have the right stuff?

Posted On January 25, 2012

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response

Republican candidate polls show a disturbing trend. You pit every candidate against Obama today, and he loses. Yet, he has a 48% of Americans disapproval rating. And he loses against a “generic” Republican. What is going on?

http://www.realclearpolitics.com/epolls/2012/president/president_obama_vs_republican_candidates.html

In earlier posts, I established why I couldn’t vote for Obama or Romney. I’ve promised to discuss Gingrich and Santorum. I do think that each of these is an improvement. They are both less progressive than Romney or Obama. But they are still progressives.

1. Gingrich is tough, but is he conservative, or just another Washington politician?

I don’t think I’ll ever forget the excitement of the nineties, and the Contract with America.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Contract_with_America

You see, I had only been a conservative myself for three years. As a kid, I’d loved Reagan. My dad was very disillusioned with Carter, and, being himself a tough guy, he loved Reagan’s tough talk about Iran and Russia. He really seemed to hope that Reagan would nuke Iran. And as a nine year old, I largely agreed with him. It was around this time that I began to follow politics.

It was also around this time that I fell in love with rhetoric. Not the modern idea of rhetoric: you know, basically lying with big words. I mean rhetoric in the classical tradition.

For, love him or hate him, Reagan was definitely the greatest rhetorician of my life time. He had a way of weaving a spell with his words. Its one of the reasons why he was always being compared (unjustly) to Hitler.

Reagan at Branderburg Gate-“tear down this wall”

President Ronald Reagan-Address on the Challenger Disaster

The very best of Ronald Reagan, pts. 1, 2

I’ll admit it….I’d really rather be writing on the greatness of Reagan than on the pettiness of the current Republican political spectrum.

But I promised I’d talk about Newt and Santorum, and that is exactly what I’m going to do.

So, the nineties, the Contract with America, and Newt Gingrich. He seemed tough, he had all that beautiful silver hair, and the liberal media hated him. So, for a while, a Reaganesque shadow fell on him. But that shadow has palled and turned into something that looks more like business as usual. Like the Washington insider Romney accused him of being (which is very ironic coming from him. I find more evidence of Romney in our shadow government than Newt).

I wasn’t so worried about the ethics stuff from the nineties. Most of the allegations seemed all trumped up to me. And I know enough about people to know that even a good man can be the victim of a witch hunt.

But what does worry me is his hand holding with Nancy Pelosi while the two of them advertise for cap-and-trade, which was a terrible Al Gore idea that was based on bad economics and unfounded global warming “science.”

Nancy Pelosi and Newt Gingrich on climate change

Why Newt Gingrich is unfit to be president

I guess what I’m trying to say is that he seems to talk tough in a debate where he thinks he can impress us, but he’s willing to go on a commercial with one of the worst of the enemy, and act as if we agree on the issue. Then he turns around and tells us we should have a debate about it, and that is what the commercial is about. But it doesn’t sound like a debate to me. Watch it again. He admits that this is an issue that he agrees with Nancy Pelosi on.

He has no credibility with me.

Well, the family is home, and they come first. I’ll post about Santorum later (if he’s still in the race).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

